Creative Movie-watching

I watched Skyfall last night, one of the Daniel Craig James Bond movies, not for the first time. I’m actually not a huge James Bond fan–or even a small one, I find most iterations of the character to be jack-asses–but I like the Daniel Craig version at least a smidgeon and anything with Judy Dench in it is worth watching. Worth watching twice, in this case.

Anyway, watching the movie this time I had the thought that one of my fictional characters, Elzy (who belongs to what will probably be my second published novel) would love the movie. She’d like the action sequences, she’d relate to the hard, unsentimental characters, and she’d appreciate the subtle juggling of questions of honor, morality, and personal connection. And the ending would totally make her want to cry, for reasons only tangentially related to the plot of the movie.

So I watched the movie as her, not quite experiencing what she would have, but seeing which passages would strike her as meaningful and enjoyable.

I’ve started doing this of late. There are books I read and reread because my characters like them, food I’ve chosen because they chose something similar….I’m wondering if this is one of those character development tools they don’t tell you about in high school writing classes?

What books, movies, TV shows, etc. do your characters like? And why?

Updates on projects

In the meantime, in the school with no name, Daniel addresses the reader in the present, rather than in flashback as he normally does, and describes his family’s celebration of Pi Day (with pie, of course).

In Climate in Emergency, I began to explore the costs of climate change vs. the benefits of fossil fuel use, and came to the conclusion that such comparison is harder than it seems–in part because the costs and the benefits are not experienced by the same people.

 

About Caroline Ailanthus

I am a creative science writer. That is, most of my writing is creative rather than technical, but my topic is usually science. I enjoy explaining things and exploring ideas. I have one published novel and another on the way. I have a master's degree in Conservation Biology and I work full-time as a writer.
This entry was posted in The Craft of Writing and Editing, Writings and Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

